Wednesday, 14 January 2015

T.S. Eliot Prize: Twitter Reax

David Harsent (seen above) walked away with this year's £20,000 T.S. Eliot Prize for his poetry collection Fire Songs. One of the three jurors for the competition was Fiona Sampson. The last major award Harsent won was the $75,000 Griffin Poetry Prize in 2012. On the jury for that year? Sampson. The TLS finds the coincidence troubling ("Isn’t this the sort of thing a journalist, even an arts journalist, ought to find curious?").

Others are far more pointed about it.

Maybe the best way to fix a prize (short of scuppering it) is create a better one.

1 comment:

theresa said...

Maybe a coincidence or maybe the best book. He's a fine poet...